Connect with us

Cricket News

Babar Azam cites dew factor for the loss in 6th T20I against England

Babar Azam

The Pakistan Cricket Team was completely outplayed by England in the sixth T20I match played at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Friday. Thanks to Babar Azam’s 87 not-out, Pakistan posted 169 for 6 in 20 overs. Phil Salt created a major impact with an explosive knock putting pressure on Pakistan’s bowling line-up right from word go.

He along with Alex Hales put on 53 runs in quick time, laying a strong foundation for a commanding 8-wicket win and helping England level the 7-match T20I series at 3-3 with one match to spare.

England and Pakistan will lock horns in the seventh and final T20I match at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Sunday. The Pakistani bowlers struggled a lot with dew setting in, making the batting easy. Phil Salt produced brilliant hitting, not allowing the hosts’ bowling line-up to settle for line and length.

It has been a rollercoaster ride in this series with England winning it by 6 wickets at Karachi. Pakistan made a strong comeback with Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan sharing a record unbeaten 199 run-partnership to help Pakistan register a 10-wicket win to level the series.

England produced a sensational batting display as they registered 63 runs in the 3rd T20I before Pakistan won the next two matches with a narrow margin to take a 3-2 lead.

“The first six overs made the difference, the way they utilized them. The ball became wet because of dew and the spinners and fast bowlers found it tough to grip it. In the second innings, the ball also came on nicely to the bat when there was dew. The ball became soapy and it became tough for bowlers. But credit should go to Salt and Hales for giving England momentum with a fast start,” Babar said in a video uploaded on Pakistan Cricket’s Twitter handle.

Pakistan and England would be looking to fight for one more time to clinch the 7-match T20I series. It will be a tough fight for the trophy.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News