Connect with us
Whatsapp ID Get WhatsApp ID

IPL 2024

‘Aisi consistency kaha se laate ho?’ – Fans abuzz as CSK beat DC by 77 runs to qualify for IPL 2023 playoffs

DC hosted CSK at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in the 67th game of IPL 2023

CSK beat DC, IPL 2023

On Saturday, the Indian Premier League (IPL) resumed play with a match between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium. The Super Kings are up against tough opposition from teams like Royal Challengers Bangalore and Lucknow Super Giants. At the same time, the Delhi Capitals have already been eliminated from contention for one of the four playoff spots in this year’s IPL.

MS Dhoni chose to bat first as the visitors won the toss. CSK posted a staggering 223-run total by playing outstanding cricket to ensure they took full advantage of the occasion. The visitors’ top performances came from the CSK openers Devon Conway (87 off 52) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (79 off 50). The appearances of Shivam Dube (22 off 9) and Ravindra Jadeja (20 off 7) also helped them.

David Warner’s fighting knock of 86 off 58 went in vain

In reply, DC went off to a shaky start, losing Prithvi Shaw (5 off 7), Phil Salt (3 off 6) and Rilee Rossouw (0 off 1) within five overs for a score of 26. Yash Dhull (13 off 15) and Axar Patel (15 off 8) were the next ones to follow. With 86 off 58, David Warner remained the only notable batter for the home team, as DC could only reach 146/9 in their 20 overs. For CSK, Deepak Chahar remained the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3/22 in four overs. Matheesha Pathirana and Maheesh Theekshana scalped two, whereas Tushar Deshpande and Ravindra Jadeja scalped one apiece.

The second match of the day will feature an extraordinary duel between the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in the sixteenth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Both teams’ lives are on the line. After that, Sunday would be the final day of the league stages, with another doubleheader in store for the crowd. At the Wankhede Stadium, the eliminated Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) will attempt to ruin Mumbai Indians’ (MI) party in the opening match. The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will compete against the Gujarat Titans (GT), who have already qualified, in the final game of the league stages.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL 2024


whatsapp Sign Up with WhatsApp ID