Connect with us

20-20 World Cup 2022

Watch-Apex Cricket Body introduces ‘Elite commentary panel’ for 20-20 World Cup with a WhatsApp inspired funny video

The 20-20 World Cup kicks off on 16th October 2022.

20-20 World Cup

Commentators are an integral part of cricket. It is the commentators who amplify the watching experience for fans with their accurate explanation of the game as well as ball-by-ball analysis. While many would think of it as an easy job, it’s anything but.

The 20-20 World Cup has brought together some great commentators to cover the highly anticipated matches. While earlier, commentators were mostly subjected to the backrooms of cricket broadcasting, recently there has been more limelight shed upon them as well. So much so that the Apex Cricket Body has created a funny introduction video for the elite commentary panel.

The video has smartly integrated the messaging app WhatsApp sounds and UI to introduce the commentators for the World Cup. The light-hearted video starts with Adam Gilchrist calling Mel Jones and asking her to create a WhatsApp group for commentators for the World Cup. Jones, then creates a group called the Men’s 20-20 World Cup 2022 Commentators Chat, where she starts adding people up. Former Indian head coach, player and commentator Ravi Shastri is the first one to message, “Let’s get this party started.”

Here’s the video: 

West Indies former player and commentator then replies, “It’s great to be back” followed by a “this is going to be great fun” from Harsha Bhogle. Kiwi commentator, Danny Morrison then posts a video of him excited about the World Cup. The video then shows other Australian commentators like Shane Watson, Michale Clarke and Dirk Nannes added to the chat. Dale Styne also posts a video wherein he says, “This year the Proteas are bringing it back home”, to which Shaun Pollock replies, “definitely.”

Probably the funniest bit of the video was when Eoin Morgan joins in and says, “Hey guys, it’s great to be part of the team.” Following the video message from Morgan, Carlos Braithwaite posts a picture of him celebrating victory at the 2016 20-20 World Cup final when the West Indies defeated a Morgan-led England side by four wickets. Following this picture, Morgan leaves the WhatsApp group in what has been the funniest moment in the video.

This is the list of all the commentators for the 20-20 World Cup. 

Adam Gilchrist, Athar Ali Khan, Bazid Khan, Brian Murgatroyd, Carlos Brathwaite, Dale Steyn, Danny Morrison, Dirk Nannes, Eoin Morgan, Harsha Bhogle, Ian Bishop, Ian Smith, Isa Guha, Mark Howard, Mel Jones, Michael Atherton, Michael Clarke, Nasser Hussain, Natalie Germanos, Niall O’Brien, Pommie Mbangwa, Preston Mommsen, Ravi Shastri, Russell Arnold, Samuel Badree, Shane Watson, Shaun Pollock, Simon Doull, Sunil Gavaskar 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in 20-20 World Cup 2022