Connect with us

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022

TNPL 2022: Match 16 Madurai Panthers vs Salem Spartans- Match Report

Madurai Panthers have moved to second in the league table with eight points.

TNPL 2022
TNPL 2022 (Source: Twitter)

The Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022 is officially in its second half, with 16 out of 28 league matches already done. The 16th game of this edition took place on July 11th between Madurai Panthers and Salem Spartans.

Let’s look at the match report for the same.

TNPL 2022 Match 16: Madurai Panthers vs Salem Spartans

Looking for their first win ever, the SS team clashed with the second-placed team Madurai Panthers. SS won the toss and chose to bowl first. Coming on to bat first the SMP team got a decent start from their openers K Rajkumar(29) and Arun Karthik (13). They however could not build up a high individual score on the back of their good start. Next batter Vignesh Iyer (16) also could not do much. It was the captain N Sarangarajan Chaturved (34) and Rithik Easwaran (41) who came up with a 59-run partnership to take the team to a good score of 165/7.

Kishoor from the SS side came up with a bowling figure of 4-39-3 and was supported by M Ganesh Moorthi (4-30-2).

SS team hoped to chase down the target having gotten a decent start from their openers Hari Gopinath (15) and S Abishiek (18). None of the SS batters however string up a high score for the team with the highest individual score being 25 runs by Pranav Kumar. In the end, the SS team was restricted to just 126/9 and lost the game by a massive 39 runs.

It was a team effort from the bowling unit of SMP with Ragupathy Silambarasan coming up with a bowling figure of 4-22-2. B Rocky and P Saravanan took two wickets each to support the leading wicket-taker. Sunny Sandhu also came up with a wicket and that too of the opener Hari Gopinath.

With this win, SMP have gained eight points in their five matches and remain second. Meanwhile, the SS team are without a win in their three matches so far and stay at the bottom of the table in TNPL 2022.

SMP: 165/7

Rithik Easwaran: 41(27), N Sarangarajan Chaturved: 34(24)

Ragupathy Silambarasan: 4-22-4, P Saravanan: 4-9-2

SS: 126/9

Pranav Kumar: 25(27), Daryl Ferrario: 19(13)

Kishoor: 4-39-3, M Ganesh Moorthi: 4-30-2

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022