Connect with us

Press Release

The 61st Edition Of The Subroto Cup International Football Tournament To Resume After A Gap Of Two Years

The 61st edition of Subroto Cup will resume after a gap of two years

Subroto Cup
Subroto Cup (Image source- Twitter)

New Delhi, 23 August 2022: The 61st edition of Subroto Cup International Football Tournament that was suspended due to the Covid 19 pandemic will resume after a gap of two years as announced by the Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society (SMSES), the organisers of the tournament along with the Indian Air Force. The tournament is scheduled to be held as usual in New Delhi from 6th September to 13th October, 2022.

Speaking on the occasion, Wing Commander Yashwant Singh Panghal, Honorary Secretary General, Subroto Mukerjee Sports Education Society said, “With immense happiness we share the news of the resumption of the Subroto Cup, a beacon in promoting football at grass root level in this country. Due to the pandemic, the tournament could not be conducted in the previous two years, but all that is behind us now and we look forward to a wonderful football season in September, involving the future stars of the game in India. We wish all the participating teams, all the very best.”

The tournament will be conducted in three categories beginning with the Sub Junior Boys (Under 14) kicking off from September 6th, 2022, with the finals to be held on September 15th, 2022. This will be followed by Junior Girls (Under 17) that is scheduled to begin on September 19th , 2022, with the finals scheduled on September 28th, 2022. The Junior Boys (Under 17) will start October 3rd, 2022 and the finals of the same will be played on the October 22nd, 2022, the same day as the closing ceremony of the event.

The Opening Ceremony and all the finals will be telecast LIVE on DD Sports. A total prize money in excess of INR 23,00,000 has been set aside across the three categories for the winners and the runners-up. Other cash prizes include those for the semi-finalists, quarter finalists, Fair Play, Best Player, Best Goalkeeper, Best Coach and Best School.

Scholarship for 75 Players

Additionally, a selection committee consisting of eminent footballers will select 25 outstanding players in each category for awarding of scholarships. All the players selected will be awarded a scholarship (one time grant) of INR 25,000/- in the Junior Boys and Junior Girls categories and INR 15,000/- for the Sub-Junior Boys category.

First step for many future Indian footballers

Many prominent Indian footballers past and present have come through the Subroto Cup ranks to bring laurels for the country. Legends like Shyam Thapa, and Bhaichung Bhutia as well as players like Robin Singh, Bruno Coutinho, Parimal Dey, Victor Amal Raj, Harjinder Singh, VP Sathyan, Shyamal Banerjee, Uttam Rai and Jacki Chand Singh are just some names who have played the Cup in their growing up days.

International legends like Rivaldo, Roberto Carlos (both in 2016) and the greatest of them all, Pele (2015), have also graced the tournament as Guest of Honour in its earlier editions.

The Subroto Cup 2022 will be held in four different venues this year namely              Dr. BR Ambedkar Stadium (Delhi Gate), Tejas Football Ground (Race Course), Subroto Park and Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. Around 85 different school teams representing their respective states are expected to participate in one of the most important inter school competition in Asia. A school from Bangladesh has also confirmed to participate in the competition.



Press Conference & Curtain Raiser                                  – 01 Sep 2022

Opening Ceremony                                                      – 06 Sep 2022

Final Sub-Junior Boys (U-14)                                         – 15 Sep 2022

Final Junior Girls (U-17)                                                – 28 Sep 2022

Closing Ceremony & Final Junior Boys (U-17)                    – 13 Oct 2022




WINNER                             – Saidan Secondary School, Mizoram

RUNNERS UP                      – Unique Model Academy, Manipur



WINNER                  – Bangladesh Krida Shiksha Protishtan, Bangladesh (BKSP)

RUNNERS UP           – Nilmani English School, Manipur



WINNER             – Hopewel Elias Higher Secondary School, Meghalaya

RUNNERS UP      – Bangladesh Krida Shiksha Protishtan, Bangladesh (BKSP)


Subroto Cup Football Tournament is a prestigious international inter-school football tournament that is held annually in New Delhi, India. Named after the Indian Air Force Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee, it is an annual event that began in 1960. Students from different countries across Asia participate in this tournament, making it one of the more noteworthy school-level football competitions.

Subroto Mukerjee conceived the idea in 1958 when he was the Chief of the Air Staff. Subroto Mukerjee Sports Education Society was formed in 1960 after his untimely death in Tokyo. The first tournament was held in 1960, with participation of about 50 school teams. Since 1998, the tournament is played in two age groups, sub-Junior (under 14 years) and Junior (under 17 years). Madhyamgram High School, West Bengal has the record for winning this tournament (U17) the most number of times (7) which includes a hat trick of titles from     1981 – 1983.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Press Release