Connect with us

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022

Tamil Nadu Premier League: Match 19 NRK vs RTW- Match Report

Nellai Royal Kings are the only team to win all of their matches so far.

Tamil Nadu Premier League
TNPL 2022 (Source: Twitter)

The Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022 is heading towards its endgame. One team (NRK) already qualified for the playoffs with 12 points in the bag. There are just three positions left for the next round, which is what teams are fighting really hard for.

In the 19th match of Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022, Nellai Royal Kings and Ruby Trichy Warriors clash against each other. Let’s see the match report for the match:

TNPL Match 19 Nellai Royal Kings vs Ruby Trichy Warriors

Winning the toss, RTW elected to bowl first and asked NRK to set the target. NRK started poorly with both openers Sri Niranjan R (5) and Laxmesha Suryaprakash (18) getting out cheaply. The next two batters Baba Aparajith (92*) and Sanjay Yadav (103*) took the game by the scruff of the neck and battered RTW’s bowlers. In between them, the two batters hit 11 boundaries and 17 sixes. With their sensational batting, the NRK team was able to reach 236/2 in 20 overs. P Saravan Kumar and captain Rahil Shah took one wicket each while Antony Dhas was the most economic with having given 8.7 runs per over.

Coming on to chase this huge target the RTW team got off to a decent start with S Santosh Shiv getting out at a team score of 50. Wickets continued to fall from then on with Murali Vijay holding the fort from one end. In just 66 deliveries, Vijay made a swashbuckling 121, an inning that included seven fours and 12 sixes. He wasn’t however supported from the other end as NRK bowlers ran through the RTW’s batting lineup. RTW’s poor batting can be summed from the fact that after Murali Vijay (121), Adithya Ganesh with a score of 13 was the second top scorer for the team.

The team could only reach 170 in 20 overs and lost the match by a massive 66 runs. Baba Aparajith with a bowling figure of 4-38-2 was their best bowler along with Easwaran K who took two wickets as well.

With this win the NRK team has qualified for the next round, having amassed 12 points from their six matches. They are the only team to win all of their matches in the league so far.

NRK: 236/2
Baba Aparajith: 92(48), Sanjay Yadav: 103(55)
Baba Aparajith: 4-38-2, Easwaran K: 4-42-2

RTW: 170/7
Murali Vijay: 121(66), Adithya Ganesh: 13(12)
P Saravan Kumar: 4-42-1, Rahil Shah: 1-13-1

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022