Connect with us

Cricket News

South Africa announce squad for the 20-20 World Cup in Australia, Tristan Stubbs also receives a call-up

Rassie van der Dussen was the major name that missed out on the squad as he injured his finger during the second Test against England.

South Africa team

Cricket South Africa on Tuesday announced the South African squad for the upcoming 20-20 World Cup in Australia next month. Temba Bavuma will be leading the side in the marquee tournament. Rassie van der Dussen was the major name that missed out on the squad as he injured his finger during the second Test against England.

The 33-year-old is expected to undergo surgery and will be out of action for at least six weeks. Rilee Russow, who was called up to the South Africa T20I setup after a gap of six years in July, also finds a place in the squad. Youngster Tristan Stubbs has also been included in the squad owing to his stupendous performance in the early phase of his career. The 15-member squad will be traveling to India for a three-match T20I series later this month ahead of the World Cup.

South Africa are looking in good touch leading up to the 20-20 world cup. They drew a five-match series against India 2-2 in June. They further defeated England 2-1 in a three-match T20I series in July. The Proteas clean swept Ireland 2-0 in a two-match T20I series in August.

South Africa were knocked out of the 20-20 world cup last year in the first stage itself despite winning four out of their five matches. They fell behind on the net run rate and finished third in their group after having a similar number of points as both Australia and England.

South Africa will kick off their world cup campaign on 24th October. They’re placed in Group 2 in Super 12 along with India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. Two more teams will also join the group after the qualifiers round which will begin on the 16th of October.

Speaking on the squad selection, CSA Convenor of Selectors Victor Mpitsang said, “Someone like Tristan Stubbs who was not in the frame a year ago has done incredibly well to force his way into the mix based on his performances and his selection should be an inspiration for every young player out there. We are also delighted to welcome back our captain Temba Bavuma from injury and we have no doubt his return will further galvanise the team.”

Squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Cricket News