Connect with us

SLC SkyExch T20 League

SLC Invitational T20 League 1st match SLC Blues vs SLC Greens Preview: Match Details, Squads, Pitch Report

SLC Blues and SLC Greens will lock horns in the inaugural match of the league.

Charith Asalanka-Dasun Shanaka
Charith Asalanka-Dasun Shanaka

The much-awaited SLC Invitational T20 League is all set to begin tomorrow with the first game scheduled to take place between SLC Blues and SLC Greens at 7:30 a.m at the R.P.S Stadium in Colombo. A total of seven matches will be played in the league over the course of eight days. There are a total of four teams participating in the competition who will face off with each other once in the league stage and the top two teams will meet in the finals.

Both SLC Blues and SLC Greens failed to qualify for the finals of the competition in the last edition and will be taking the field today to make amends for their poor run. Here is a preview of their encounter.

Team Updates

SLC Blues

The Blues had a decent tournament last season as they managed to get two victories out of their six games. They also lost two matches and the other two were washed out. They missed out on the final spot by just one point which they would’ve bagged, had their games not been washed out.  The Charith Asalanka-led team has many stars in their lineup this year like Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya De Silva and Kasun Rajitha. The team will be desperate to reach the finals this year after missing out on the spot by a whisker last year.

Squads: Charith Asalanka (Capt.), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama (WK), Dhananjaya De Silva, Ashen Bandara, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Pramod Madushan, Lahiru Kumara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Udara, Lahiru Samarakoon, Ashen Daniel, Nipun Ransika

SLC Greens

The Greens had a forgettable outing in the inaugural edition of the league as they lost five out of their six matches with one game washed out. They will be looking to turn things around this year and seal a spot in the finals. The Greens also boast many Sri Lankan stars in their squad this year starting with their captain Dasun Shanaka, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella and Dinesh Chandimal.

Squads: Dasun Shanaka (Capt.), Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella (WK), Nuwanidu Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ramesh Mendis, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshan Sandakan, Saminda Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Nimesh Vimukthi, Sachindu Colombage

Match Details

SLC Blues vs SLC Greens

Date – 8th August 2022

Time – 7:30 a.m

Venue – R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

Live Streaming – SLC’s official Youtube Channel

Pitch Report

The pitch at the RPS stadium has been a paradise for the batters lately with several high-scoring matches taking place at this ground. The captain winning the toss will be looking to take full advantage of the conditions by batting first and putting the opposition under pressure.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in SLC SkyExch T20 League