Connect with us

Cricket News

Shakib Al Hasan to lead Bangladesh until the 20-20 World Cup

This will be Shakib Al Hasan’s third stint as T20I captain

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has appointed Shakib Al Hasan as the captain of the team till the 20-20 World Cup later this year. The announcement has come shortly after being appointed as the skipper for the Asia Cup 2022 and pulling out of a brand deal. For the unversed, the all-rounder had come under a serious problem after posting a promotional post for a betting company.

The BCB had said that if Hasan doesn’t stop promoting the betting company, he might be dropped from the team. Now that the left-hander has pulled out of the deal, he has been appointed the T20I skipper of the team. ”Shakib al Hasan is the captain till the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup,” BCB cricket operation chairman, Jalal Yunus, told reporters after the meeting.

Yunus also revealed that the 35-year-old has accepted his mistake and assured them that he won’t make any further mistakes like this. ”He admitted that he made a mistake (signing the deal with the betting company) and he said that won’t make any further mistakes and we are hopeful,” he said.

This isn’t the first time that the Jessore-born player will lead the side in the shortest format. He first led the team as a stand-in captain for four games in 2009-10. After this, he became the full-time captain of the team in 2017 after Mashrafe Mortaza’s retirement from the format. Shakib remained the skipper of the team till 2019 before he was suspended by the World Cricket governing Council.

The council had found out that he failed to report multiple spot-fixing approaches. He was suspended for two years and made an international comeback last year. Meanwhile, the BCB has announced their squad for the Asia Cup starting on August 27.


Shakib al Hasan (C), Anamul Haq Bijoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mossaddek Saikat, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sheikh Mahedi, Saifuddin, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Taskin Ahmed

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Cricket News