Connect with us

T20 World Cup 2022

New Zealand announces its squad for the 20-20 World Cup 2022, Finn Allen and Michael Bracewell find a spot in the team

New Zealand has announced its squad for the 20-20 World Cup 2022.

New Zealand Cricket Team
New Zealand Cricket Team (Source: Twitter)

The 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, which will take place in Australia in October-November, was unveiled by New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Tuesday. The only newcomers from the team that advanced to the final of the competition in the UAE last year are Finn Allen and Michael Bracewell, who have been selected for their first senior World Cups.

After being called up to the team last October to replace Lockie Ferguson (calf injury) early in the competition, paceman Adam Milne has kept his spot. After donning the gloves in the UAE and the most recent series against the West Indies, Devon Conway has been named the front-line wicketkeeper. The only three players from the previous squad who did not return were Tim Seifert, Todd Astle, and Kyle Jamieson.

“Of those who featured in last year’s World Cup squad, Kyle Jamieson wasn’t considered as he continues his rehabilitation from a back injury, while Todd Astle and Tim Seifert have missed selection,” stated an official NZC release.

The T20 tri-series with Pakistan and Bangladesh begins on October 7 in Christchurch, and the New Zealand T20 World Cup team will first play in that series. The tri-series will give fans their final opportunity to see the team before they depart for Australia on October 15 with seven games spread over eight days at Hagley Oval.

It’s great to have this tournament so soon: Gary Stead

“It’s always a special time announcing a World Cup squad and I’d like to congratulate the 15 players selected today. It’s especially exciting for Finn and Michael who are set for their first ICC events, while Martin Guptill is preparing for his 7th T20 World Cup – which in itself is an incredible achievement,” said head coach Gary Stead.

“It’s great to have this tournament so soon after last year’s event in which we played some really good cricket, but couldn’t quite get over the line at the end. With the nucleus of that squad retained along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with plenty of optimism,” he added.

New Zealand’s squad for the T20 World Cup 2022

Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in T20 World Cup 2022