Connect with us

Cricket News

Melbourne Cricket Ground lights up in tricolor to celebrate India’s 75th independence

India achieved independence on 15th August 1947.

Melbourne Cricket Ground
Melbourne Cricket Ground (Image Credit: Twitter/Melbourne Cricket Ground)

India is celebrating its 75th anniversary of independence from the oppressive British Rule. The nation achieved independence on 15th August 1947. A lot of Indian cricketers have wished the 1.3 billion India on the special occasion.

Meanwhile, Melbourne Cricket Ground which is under Cricket Victoria has been lit up in tricolour. The official page of the MCG has uploaded the image on their Twitter handle. “Tonight, we’re lighting up to commemorate the 75th anniversary of India’s independence,” read the caption.

Notably, the ground will host India and Pakistan cricket teams in October for the 20-20 World Cup encounter. Not to forget, a lot of people from the Indian community reside in Melbourne. They will surely be getting ready to support their team on October 23 this year. The tickets for the game are yet to be open but one thing is for sure, both the Asian rivals will get a lot of support from their fans.

Before this, both teams will be playing each other at least two times in the Asia Cup. After all, they are slotted in the same group in the first round and the third team is yet to be determined. Both teams are expected to easily get past the qualifying team and face once against in the Super Four round. Both teams may play the final, given that the tournament will be played in the UAE.

India and Pakistan are preparing for their respective series

Before the continental tournament, both teams are preparing for their respective ODI series. The Green Brigade will play the three-match ODI series against the Netherlands, starting on August 16. On the other hand, the Men In Blue will play their three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe, starting on August 18. The Babar Azam-led team will be a full-strength side, while the KL Rahul-led side will be a second-string side. The main players of the Indian team will feature in the Asia Cup, starting on August 27.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Cricket News