Connect with us

Maharaja Trophy T20

Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 2022: Match 5 & 6- Match Report

Mangalore United sit at the top of the Maharaja Trophy table with four points from two matches.

Maharaja Trophy
Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 (Source: Twitter)

The Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 League is proving to be highly entertaining for the fans having showcased some exciting matches in the first week itself.

Two high-quality games were on offer in Match five and six in Mysore. Let’s look at the match report for both matches.

Match 5: Shivamogga Strikers vs Gulbarga Mystics

Both, having lost their matches clashed in the fifth match of the Maharaja Trophy to get a taste of win but it was only one; Gulbarga Mystics who could earn points in this match.

After winning the toss, SS decided to bat first. Although they lost their first wicket at just one run, Rohan Kadam (53) and Krishnamurthy Siddharth (53) took charge of the batting and took the scoreboard past 100. The two batters played sensationally and helped the team achieve a massive score of 175/8 in the end. Codanda Ajit Karthik with three wickets was GMY’s best bowler.

Coming onto chase what looked like a very big total, the GMY team got off to a decent start. Contribution from every batter however came out as the strength of the GMY team. Jeswanth Acharya (30), Rohan Patil (28), Krishnan Shrijith (15) and Codanda Ajith (22) made a significant contribution to the team. It was however the captain Manish Pandey who played a half-century knock (50 off 36) to help clinch an impressive first win for GMY.

Avinash D came up with a five-wicket haul from the SS team but similar to their batting, he wasn’t supported by other bowlers.

SS: 175/8
Rohan Kadam: 53(41), Krishnamurthy Siddharth: 53(51)
Avinash D: 4-40-5, Rajvir Wadhwa: 2-8-1

GMY: 177/7
Manish Pandey: 50(36), Jeswanth Acharya: 30(17)
Codanda Ajit Karthik: 4-29-3, Vidhwath Kaverappa: 4-48-2

Match 6: Bengaluru Blasters vs Hubli Tigers

In the sixth match of the Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 League, Bengaluru Blasters and Hubli Tigers went against each other. Hubli had
lost their first match whereas BB had won theirs.

The second match proved to be a turn of fortunes for both as Hubli were able to defeat the BB team and earn two points. HT won the toss and elected to bowl first. The rain-affected match had to be restricted to 16 overs.

Coming on to bat first, the BB team could only produce 119 runs in 16 overs. Captain Mayank Agarwal was again impressive and hit 43 off 38 deliveries. Suraj Ahuja also made important 20 runs but none of the other batters could make significant contributions to the team.

The target was revised for the HT team and they were given 137 runs in 16 overs. They chased down the target with one ball to spare. Captain Abhimanyu Mithun with an unbeaten knock of 51 was instrumental in HT’s win. BU Shivkumar also played important innings of 30 runs in 28 deliveries.

BB: 119/5
Mayank Agarwal: 43(38), Suraj Ahuja: 20(19)
Jagadeesha Suchith: 3-21-2, Ronit More: 3-23-1

HT: 139/6
Abhimanyu Mithun: 51(22), BU Shivakumar: 30(28)
Saurabh Srivastav: 4-31-2, Vasuki Koushik: 2-8-1

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Maharaja Trophy T20