Connect with us

Cricket News

‘Kis kaam h yr Awards’ – Twitter divided as Babar Azam wins ODI Cricketer of the year 2022 award

In 2022, Babar Azam scored 679 runs from nine matches at an average of 84.87 and three centuries.

Babar Azam
Babar Azam (source: Twitter)

Pakistan captain Babar Azam won the Apex Cricket Council’s Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year Award for the second year in a row on Thursday. In 2022, Babar, who also had a fantastic year with the bat in 2021, scored 679 runs from nine matches at an average of 84.87 and three centuries.

Babar is also the top-ranked batter in the One-Day International rankings, a position he has held since July 2021. Notably, Pakistan only lost one ODI under his leadership in 2022. “There were match-winning knocks, spell-binding stroke-play and memorable moments from a personal perspective and his team in 2022 as Pakistan skipper Babar Azam claimed the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year Award for a second consecutive year,” the Apex Cricket Council said in a statement.

Babar was named captain of the Men’s ODI Team of the Year earlier this week. The team also includes Travis Head of Australia, Shai Hope of the West Indies, Shreyas Iyer of India, and Tom Latham of New Zealand. Last year, Iyer was India’s top-scoring batter in the format, accumulating 724 runs at an average of 55.69 in 17 games.

Zimbabwe was also represented by their marquee all-rounder Sikandar Raza, who made the cut. Raza scored 645 runs at a strike rate of 87.16 and an average of 49.61. He had two fifties and three centuries. Raza also contributed with the ball, taking eight wickets and conceding around five runs per over.

Bangladesh’s Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who was one of the most consistent all-rounders in ODI cricket last year, was next on the list. He took 24 wickets for the Bangla Tigers in 15 games at an average of 28.20, with his best performance being 4/29. Mehidy scored 330 runs at a stunning average of 66, including one century and one fifty.

Alzarri Joseph of the West Indies, Mohammed Siraj of India, Trent Boult of New Zealand, and Adam Zampa of Australia completed the list. Siraj appeared in 15 games and took 24 wickets for the Men in Blue. His wickets came at a 4.62 economy rate.

Here is how Twitter reacted to Babar Azam

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. ???????????

    January 26, 2023 at 2:21 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket News