Connect with us

Women's T20 Commonwealth Games

India Women all set to take on Pakistan Women in the Commonwealth Games 2022

India Women's Cricket Team-Pakistan Women's Cricket Team
India Women's Cricket Team-Pakistan Women's Cricket Team (image source- Twitter)

Cricket will finally return to the Commonwealth Games, which are scheduled to begin on July 28, 2022. After a 24-year gap, cricket will return to the Commonwealth Games. The sport was last played in the CWG in 1998. Women’s cricket, on the other hand, will be featured for the first time in the tournament.

The Indian team, led by Harmanpreet Kaur, will also compete in the tournament. They are in Group A, alongside Australia, Pakistan, and Barbados. While India will play their first game against Australia, they will lock horns with Pakistan on the 31st of July.

The rivalry between the two teams is very iconic due to the political situations of the neighbouring countries. The fact that the two teams only clash in major multi-team competitions adds to the fans’ enthusiasm.

The group stage matchups will begin on July 29th and will last until August 4th. The tournament’s final will take place on August 6th. The games will all take place at Birmingham’s Edgbaston Stadium. The tournamnet will be played in the T20 format.

As for India and Pakistan’s T20 head-to-head records, the two teams have played each other on 11 occasions. The women in blue have an astonishing record of nine wins against Pakistan. On the other hand, the women in green have only been able to win twice.

India Women’s squad for CWG 2022

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Sabbhineni Meghana, Taniyaa Bhatia (Wk), Yastika Bhatia (Wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana

Standby: Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh, Poonam Yadav

Pakistan Women’s squad for CWG 2022

Bismah Maroof (c), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Tuba Hassan

CWG 2022 Event Details

Dates- 29th July 2022-7th August 2022

Venue- Edgbaston Stadium, Birmingham

Timings- Morning games: 11 AM (IST), Evening games: 6 PM (IST)

Broadcast- Sony Sports Network

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Women's T20 Commonwealth Games