Connect with us

Andhra Premier League 2022

Andhra Premier League 2022: Qualifier 1 & Eliminator- Match Report

CSR move to the final despite their match being abandoned due to rain.

Andhra Premier League
APL 2022 (Source: Twitter)

The Andhra Premier League 2022 has already seen four of its best teams from the league stages raised the bar further in Qualifier 1 and Eliminator. With only two positions available for the final, teams had to fight immensely for the final berth.

July 15 saw two games of equal importance in the Andhra Premier League, let’s look at the match report for the same.

Andhra Premier League 2022: Qualifier 1 Bezawada Tigers vs Coastal Riders

The first match from July 15th came with an opportunity to book a berth straight in the final. The winner of the first Qualifier had a chance to move to the final while the loser had one more shot at the opportunity. Talking of the game, CSR won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Batting first, the BZW team got off to a poor start as they lost their first wicket at a team score of 13. Maheep Kumar(41) from the other end. However, along with the number three batter Maddala A, Praneeth (47) came up with a great partnership to take the team score to 90 before Maheep was dismissed. Praneeth was also out a bit later with two new batters Ricky Bhui and KP Sai Rahul, batting at the crease when the rain came and became a spoilsport. The match was stopped and later called off due to continuous rain. CSR team advanced to the final as they were top of the table in the league stages. BZW would now play the loser of the Eliminator in APL 2022.

BZW: 132/3 in 16.2 overs

Pyla Avinash: 47(28), Maheep Kumar: 41(35)


Madha Deepak: 3-19-1, Tripurana Vijay: 3-27-1

Match Abandoned, CSR move to the Final

Andhra Premier League 2022: Eliminator Uttarandhra Lions vs Rayalaseema Kings

The eliminator gave the third and fourth-placed teams a chance to go to the final after playing two games. Having won the toss in the Eliminator, RYLS chose to bowl first. Coming on to bat first, the UTL team started in a dominant fashion as both batters Gulfaam Saleh (80) and Srikar Bharat (29) started well. In 6.4 overs they were able to make 82 runs before the first wicket fell. Gutta Rohit (26) and Kothakoona Lakshman (31) were the other two batters who did well for the team. UTL managed to build a good score of 188/7 in 20 overs.

B Vinay Kumar with a bowling figure of 4-37-4 came out as the best bowler from the RYLS team.

Coming on to chase the target RYLS had a really poor start as they lost their first three wickets on one, three and six runs respectively. Shaik Rasheed (85) and Thanneru Vamsi Krishna (35) stopped the fall of wickets and added 67 runs before Krishna had to go. Captain Girinath Reddy (48) came in next and took the game by the scruff of the neck and got his team close to the target but could not cross the finish line. It was Jagarlapudi Ram (13) who did that for his team and got RYLS into Qualifier Two.

UTL: 188/7

Gulfaam Saleh: 80(40), Kothakoona Lakshman: 31(25)

Kaldhi Kumar: 4-25-2, Uddaraju Ahitesh Varma: 4-32-1

RYLS: 190/5

Shaik Rasheed: 85(55), Girinath Reddy: 48(30)

Jagarlapudi Ram: 4-37-4, Santosh Kumar: 4-39-1

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Andhra Premier League 2022