Connect with us

Andhra Premier League 2022

Andhra Premier League 2022 Final: Coastal Riders vs Bezawada Tigers- Match Report

Coastal Riders and Bezawada Tigers were the two teams who swatted away the competition to reach the final

Andhra Premier League
APL 2022 (Source: Twitter)

The Andhra Premier League (APL) 2022 reached its culmination after 11 days of high-quality cricket. Coastal Riders and Bezawada Tigers were the two teams who swatted away the competition to reach the final. But it was only one who could win the trophy.

The much-awaited final of the Andhra Premier League 2022 could not take place on 17th July as rain lashed out the ground. It was rescheduled for 18th July when the rain gods allowed the game to reach its completion.

Let’s look at the match report of the final.

APL Final: Coastal Riders vs Bezawada Tigers

Coastal Riders won the toss and elected to bat first in a mark of confidence from the get-go. Batting first, the CSR team got off to a really good start with both batters, CR Gnaneshwar (23) and M Pranith (44) taking the team to 73 before the first wicket fell. Pranith on the way to his 44-run knock hit four boundaries and three sixes. None of the other middle-order batters however were able to come up with a big score. It was SH Srinivas batting at number seven who produced a quickfire 40 off of 20 with three boundaries and three sixes to his name.

CSR at the end of the first innings was able to make 176/8 at the board. A Laith Mohan with a three-wicket spell was BZW’s best bowler.

Coming on to chase a decent total, the BZW team began poorly, losing their opener at just two runs. Opener C Jogesh (30) and number three batter P Avinash (23) steadied the innings but could not muster a big total for the team. Middle-order batter MA Praneeth was BZW’s best batter with a score of 48 off of just 28 deliveries. He smacked one boundary and four massive sixes of his knock, just shy of a half-century.

In the last over, the BZW team needed 21 runs with Praneeth and SJR Reddy on strike. Praneeth hit the first ball for a six, needing just 15 from the rest five balls. BZW team however could not reach the target due to losing two wickets in the next five balls.

The Coastal Riders, with this win, became the inaugural winner of the Andhra Premier League 2022.

CSR: 176/8
M Pranith: 44(27), SH Srinivas: 40(20)
S Ashish: 4-18-2, BM Varma: 4-41-2

BZW: 169/7
MA Praneeth: 48(28), C Jogesh: 30(24)
G Manish: 4-18-3, A Lalith Mohan: 4-31-3

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Andhra Premier League 2022