Connect with us

T20 World Cup 2022

Afghanistan announce their squad for the 20-20 World Cup 2022, Salim Safi receives a maiden international call up

Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat and Noor Ahmad have missed out from the squad.

Afghanistan Cricket Team
Afghanistan (Source: Twitter)

Afghanistan have announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming 20-20 World Cup 2022 in Australia which begins on the 16th of October. Mohammad Nabi, who captained the team in the recent Asia Cup 2022, will be leading the side in the mega tournament.

Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat and Noor Ahmad have missed out from the squad after failing to fire in the recent Asia Cup. Meanwhile, middle-order batter Darwish Rasooli, all-rounder Qais Ahmad and the right-arm quick Salim Safi have been added to the list.

22-year-old Rasooli, who made his international debut earlier this year, also sealed a place after recovering from a finger injury and performing exceptionally in the Shpageeza Cricket League 2022.

Qais Ahmed returns to the squad, having last played a T20I in March 2022 against Bangladesh, while 20-year-old Safi has secured his maiden international call-up.

Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah, and Gulbadin Naib have been named as travelling reserves, while the rest of the squad features familiar names.

Commenting on the squad selection, Chief selector Noor Malikzai said, “The Asia Cup was a very good opportunity for the team to buildup things nicely for the much-important global event in Australia. Since the Australian conditions offer further support for the fast bowlers, so we have added Salim Safi, the tall right-arm quick to add further impetus to our bowling department.”

“Overall, we have picked our best available players for the event and we are hopeful of them to do well and better represent the country in the mega event,” he added.

Afghanistan is placed in Group 1 in the 20-20 World Cup and will begin their campaign on 22 October against England in Perth. They finished fourth in Group 2 in the last edition of the tournament with two wins in five matches.

Afghanistan Squad:

Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Qais Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Salim Safi, Usman Ghani

Reserves: Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah, Gulbadin Naib

Afghanistan’s schedule at the 20-20 World Cup:

22 October – Afghanistan v England, Perth

26 October – Afghanistan v New Zealand, Melbourne

28 October – Afghanistan v TBA, Melbourne

01 November – Afghanistan v TBA, Brisbane

04 November – Afghanistan v Australia, Adelaide

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in T20 World Cup 2022