Connect with us

Cricket News

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders signs Andre Russell and Sunil Narine – Reports

This year, Andre Russell has joined the Trinbago Knight Riders team as well

Andre Russell, Sunil Narine
Andre Russell, Sunil Narine (Image Credit: Twitter)

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders have reportedly signed Andre Russell and Sunil Narine for the inaugural season of the new UAE T20 League. The duo has been part of the Kolkata franchise for many years. Narine joined the team in 2012 while Russell did it two years later. Also, the former joined Trinbago Knight Riders for the Caribbean Premier League 2016 and is part of the team yet.

Early this year, the Jamaican all-rounder joined the TKR team and will be sporting the Red and Black kit in the CPL 2022. Now, it is reported by the Times of India that both players have joined the Abu Dhabi-based team. At this point in time, it is believed that the UAE-based T20 League will start in January 2023 and end in February next year.

It will be interesting to see if the big players will participate in the league. After all, leagues such as Big Bash, Bangladesh Premier League, Pakistan Super League, and the new South Africa T20 League will also be played in that period. Last month, it was reported that a few Indian players would play in the league although they are not allowed to play in foreign T20 Leagues when they are under the Indian Cricket Board contract.

Talking about the other teams, Delhi and Mumbai franchise in the Indian T20 League also owns two different teams in the middle east-based tournament. However, the names of these teams are yet to be announced. The rest of the three teams are owned by Lancer Capital, co-owner of prominent football club Manchester United, top India business firm Adani Group, and Capri Global. Talking about the tournament, 34 games will be played during the course of the league.

Speaking of team combinations, a total of nine players in a team can be overseas players while one UAE and one Associate player are must to complete the playing XI. However, with four T20 Leagues clashing (BBL, PSL, South Africa, and BPL), things might be a little different.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Cricket News